Emulsion III took place at the Village Underground on 28th/29th May 2014


from Matthew Wright at the Arts Desk



Iain Ballamy – saxophones, electronics
Thomas Strønen – drums, percussion, electronics

Since their first concert at Molde in 1998 this groundbreaking group has toured and recorded internationally creating thought provoking improvised and textural music of great depth and beauty.

Originally a quartet including trumpeter Arve Henriksen and bassist Mats Eilertsen, Food has now reduced to its core and founder members Ballamy and Strønen whose concept is to invite like-minded musicians to join them and engage with their contemporary and forward thinking approach to creating music, using sound space texture and contrast to create ever-changing moods and environments for true improvisation.

By combining acoustic elements including bells, blocks, gongs and lyrical saxophone, the music is enhanced and tempered with live sampling and drums creating moods which range from minimalist to very turbulent.

Live footage of Food:



Currently a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, saxophonist and composer Trish Clowes’ music explores a fascinating hinterland between jazz and contemporary classical music, combining fluent improvisation with languid, evocative melodic lines and shifting textures. Recent performances include Celtic Connections with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, RNCM International Saxophone Day and Manchester Jazz Festival. Tangent feature on both Clowes’ albums for Basho Records.

Performing tunes from Trish’s recently recorded third album for Basho Records.

Trish Clowes – saxes; Chris Montague – guitar; Calum Gourlay – bass; James Maddren – drums



Conjuring big beats and a vast array of sonic and visual possibilities, Dan Nicholls’ Strobes+ByramArt unites the creative minds of three prodigious talents of the London music scene – featuring Chris Sharkey (Trio VD, Acoustic Ladyland) and Dave Smith (Robert Plant, Juju) – with New York­based visual artist Stephen Byram. Flickering effortlessly between electro­improv, Afro­centric grooves and distinctively original hooks, the music is combined with a set of stunning and highly integrated visuals.

Dan Nicholls – keyboards/visuals/electronics; Chris Sharkey – guitar/keyboards/electronics; Dave Smith – drums/electronics; Stephen Byram – visuals


Ensemble Amorpha

Directed by Glyndebourne Young Composer in Residence Luke Styles, Ensemble Amorpha is a London based chamber music ensemble dedicated to bringing contemporary music from around the world to the UK. Presenting a variety of performance formats and collaborating with artists in all fields, EA aims to deliver the performance of contemporary music in an innovative way making it as accessible as possible to as many people as possible.

“The polished young Ensemble Amorpha … The ensemble gave clear and committed performances. Cellist Louise McMonagle’s playing was especially vivid, with its powerful combination of precision and intensity.”  – Bach Track, Oct 2013

Luke Styles – musical director/composition; Lauren Weavers – oboe; Tom Lessels – Clarinets; Louise McMonagle – cello



Described as ‘The 21st century’s answer to the Swingles or the King’s Singers’ by The Times, Juice are at the forefront of the UK’s experimental/classical scene, performing new vocal music which draws on classical, world music, jazz, folk, pop, improvisation and theatre.In 2007, they were the first UK prize winners in the history of the internationally-renowned Tampere Vocal Festival. They have featured on BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, BBC Radio 3 and Classic FM. Performances include London’s Wigmore Hall and the South Bank, King’s Place and the Roundhouse and in 2011, they made their US debut with concerts in New York and at the famed SXSW Festival in Austin, Texas.

Kerry Andrew; Sarah Dacey; Anna Snow

Tangent will join Juice to perform a new work by Luke Styles ‘The Girls Who Wishes to Marry Stars’ – this is a New Music Biennial commission.


Emulsion Sinfonietta

Collaboration between Food, Tangent and Ensemble Amorpha. Performing works by Iain Ballamy, Thomas Strønen, Trish Clowes, Calum Gourlay & Luke Styles. The pieces were work-shopped at the final Emulsion Development Day on February 28th (generously supported by the Jerwood Charitable Foundation). Trumpeter Freddie Gavita will be joining us to perform Ballamy’s composition Gold Acre, originally written for Arve Henriksen.

Also in the set, a piece arranged for Emulsion III by Thomas Strønen and three premieres of works by Trish Clowes, Calum Gourlay and Chris Montague.

LINE UP: Lauren Weavers – oboe; Tom Lessels – clarinets; Trish Clowes – saxophones; Louise McMonagle – cello; Calum Gourlay – bass; Chris Montague – guitar; James Maddren – drums; Donald Grant – violin; Freddie Gavita – trumpet … and special guests Iain Ballamy – saxophones/electronics & Thomas Strønen – drums/electronics